校园

 


入口 园林工具 和砖路

入口花园入口花园被设计为人们,蜜蜂和蝴蝶的欢迎区域。 它提供了 砖路安静的起居区和沉思自然的地方。 两棵垂柳和开花的樱桃提供遮荫区域和季节性颜色。 金缕梅在冬末提供鲜艳的黄色花朵供研究,而在早春和夏季,Abelia和Virginia Sweetspire会随着活动而对冲嗡嗡作响。 白色的栅栏,是殖民时代的典型代表,有助于营造避难所和安静的倒影。 砖头上刻有我们早期建筑项目的捐助者名称,这些砖头构成了该花园区中的一条小路。


弗吉尼亚州 殖民地花园

殖民在弗吉尼亚州历史上的殖民时期,这个正式的花园可能曾在一个富裕家庭的院子里。 由4人研究设计th4th 和5th 轴车削中心th等级,花园是对称的,带有白色碎石的路径,模仿了殖民地压碎的牡蛎壳。 中心的传统日d被玫瑰,迷迭香,薄荷和鼠尾草所包围。


现金 庄稼花园

现金作物园该花园毗邻弗吉尼亚殖民地花园,是殖民时期辛勤耕作的农民种植的“厨房花园”或“经济作物”(玉米,棉花,烟草)花园。 覆盆子和黑莓被种植在分开的铁路围栏(殖民时期常用的围栏)旁边。 安装石墙以减少水土流失。 多年来,出于各种目的,在该地区种植了不同的班级。


衔接流程 园林工具

通路花园从殖民地花园穿过的建筑物旁边的狭窄花园最初被称为“奴隶花园”,由奴隶可能为了补充食物津贴而种植的蔬菜(绿色,豆类,葫芦和南瓜)组成。 多年来,这个空间已经变成了一个种满鲜花和蔬菜的花园。


伊丽莎白·坎贝尔户外教室露台

天井露台的设计目的是为学生提供一个户外工作场所,并为社区提供午餐和社交场所。 玫瑰马赛克(坎贝尔夫人最喜欢的花朵)是由一位美术老师设计的,并与学生和父母一起制作。 淘汰玫瑰之所以种植玫瑰,是因为不需要化学物质来维持玫瑰。 桦木河(River Birches)是美洲印第安人用于各种目的的一种本地物种,由于该地产上的地下水位高而在该地区盛行。


蜿蜒的小径及其周围的特征

劳里·贝克(Laurie Baker Lane)

劳里·贝克(Laurie Baker Lane)绕过田野的那条铺就的小路以学校的第一任校长劳里·贝克(Laurie Baker)命名。 通过阿灵顿森林基金会的几笔赠款获得了修建小路和两个棚屋的资金,这些棚屋用于安置三轮车,踏板车和铁锹。 这些棚子是Eagle Eagle侦察项目的一部分。 该路径因新游乐场的安装而中断,并计划修复。


该场

领域即使在比赛中,学生也继续学习。 整个小组活动和体育运动,如曾经流行的足球比赛,都在广阔的草地上热情地进行。 班级有时会使用此区域进行运动活动和科学研究。 一年一度的坎贝尔奥林匹克运动会利用这一领域进行许多有趣而引人入胜的体育活动,从而构成了这一庆祝日。


柏油路

柏油路有些活动只需要一个良好而坚硬的表面,例如弹跳球,篮球,粉笔画画和骑三轮车。

 


雨桶

在幼儿园/一年级探险“脚下的地球”期间,一位当地的园丁/艺术家Corinne DeJesus参观并讨论了雨桶的用途:蓄水,防止溪流径流和回收水。 后来,她用K / 1班级建议的常驻动物给桶粉刷。 雨水桶中的水用于沿停车场附近的“蛇形围栏”浇灌植物。 在学校入口附近增加了第三个雨桶。 这幅画是在前坎贝尔艺术老师的指导下由学生绘画的,并在乔治·梅森大学获得了奖项。


格子/拱门

网格协和式葡萄树在拱门上生长。

 

 

 


授粉 园林工具

授粉花园三年级蜜蜂探险带领学生研究对蜜蜂有吸引力的一年生和多年生植物的植物物种。 蜂香膏,丹参,薰衣草,锥花,向日葵,蝴蝶丛和观赏草是该地区目前种植的一些植物。


露天剧场

圆形剧场在操场的东边缘,靠近通往南7的楼梯th 街道,高架平台和成排的长椅为戏剧表演或特别演讲提供了理想的舞台。

 


蝴蝶园

蝴蝶园在教学楼和人行道之间是蝴蝶花园。 它茂盛的植物通过为成年提供花蜜吸引蝴蝶,并为不断成长的毛虫提供食物。 与校园中的其他花园一样,这些植物是本地物种和非本地物种的混合体。 目标是在整个校园内使用越来越多的本土和具有历史意义的物种。


其他区域

果园

果园该地区开设了几所K / 1教室,这里是传承苹果树的所在地(一些品种与Monticello的Thomas Jefferson种植的品种相同)。 每个教室在门外都有一张高架床,用于种植蔬菜和花卉园。 单身汉的按钮吸引着美国金翅雀,而弹簧灯泡的鲜艳色彩令我们所有人都感到高兴。


万怡酒店

庭院就像学校大楼中间的绿洲一样,庭院被完全封闭,为引导探索和放松提供了安静的位置。 滴水池塘迅速吸引了游客的注意力,并吸引了植物,蘑菇,藻类和许多动物(包括箱龟和红耳滑块)的栖息地。 每年,我们都会发现诸如野鸭之类的游客,寻找春季筑巢的地点。 高架微气候床中的肥沃土壤池塘 吸收砖砌建筑反射出的温暖,使我们的蔬菜和花卉园在更长的生长季节中蓬勃发展。 植物SCR堆肥aps 树叶和树叶可以帮助我们保持肥沃的土壤,增加学生种植的粮食作物,以捐赠给当地的粮食银行。 桌子和长凳为学生和老师在上课或午餐时提供座位。 大型储藏棚存放了我们收集的园艺工具。


未来发展

坎贝尔小学一直在寻求方法,以更好地利用我们的自然资源和我们的社区才能! 我们欢迎协作专业知识和创造力来开发以下可能的功能:

身体上的改善:

  • 安静阅读的地方
  • 与我们的户外教室和花园有关的解释性标牌
  • 其他阴影区域
  • 可靠的浇水系统
  • 交互式校园公告栏

与人的关系:

  • 通过当地的花园俱乐部与导师志愿者合作
  • 一个学生园艺俱乐部
  • 将课程实际应用到校园中,例如使用数学计算操场上的距离

您可以贡献的方式

  • 通过参加我们的星期六园艺日之一或自愿参加以组织和实施与我们的户外教室有关的特殊活动来贡献您的时间
  • 捐赠您的才能(指导园丁,景观设计,标牌开发中的图形艺术等)
  • 为新的和正在进行的项目捐赠资金或材料,例如湿地学习实验室

Schoolyard

front of school The Front Entrance to the Schoolyard


Entrance Garden and Brick Path

Entrance GardenThe Entrance Garden was designed to be a welcoming area for people, bees and butterflies. It provides a Brick Pathquiet sitting area and a place to contemplate nature. Two Weeping Willows and Flowering Cherry provide shady areas and seasonal color. Witch Hazel provides bright yellow flowers for study in the late winter while an Abelia and Virginia Sweetspire hedge buzzes with activity during early spring and summer. A white picket fence, typical of Colonial times, helps create the feeling of sanctuary and quiet reflection. Names of donors to our early building projects are featured in the bricks that form a path in this garden area.


Virginia Colonial Garden

ColonialThis formal garden might have been in the yard of a wealthy family during the colonial period in Virginia’s history. Researched and designed by the 4thand 5thgrade, the garden is symmetrical with paths of white gravel to mimic the colonial crushed oyster shells. The traditional sundial in the center is surrounded by roses, rosemary, mint and sage.


Cash Crop Garden

Cash Crop GardenAdjacent to the Virginia Colonial Garden, this garden represents a “kitchen garden” or “cash crop” (corn, cotton, tobacco) garden grown by hardworking farmers during the colonial period.  Raspberries and blackberries are planted next to the split rail fence (a commonly used fence in Colonial times). The stone wall was installed to reduce soil erosion. Over the years different classes have planted in this area for a variety of purposes.


Pathway Garden

Pathway GardenThis narrow garden alongside the building across the path from the Colonial Garden was initially planted as a “Slave Garden,” made up of the vegetables (greens, beans, gourds, and squash) that slaves may have grown to supplement their food allowances. Over the years this space has been transformed  into a garden of flowers and vegetables.


Elizabeth Campbell Outdoor Classroom Patio

PatioThe patio was designed to provide an outdoor space for students to work, and a place for the community to have lunch and socialize. The rose mosaics (Mrs. Campbell’s favorite flowers) were designed by an art teacher, and produced with students and parents. Knock out roses were planted because no chemicals are required to maintain them. River Birches, a native species used by Native Americans for a variety of purposes, flourish in this area due to the high water table on the property.


The Meandering Path and Features Around It

Laurie Baker Lane

Laurie Baker LaneThe paved path once circling the field is named after the school’s first principal, Laurie Baker. Funding for construction of the path and the two sheds housing tricycles, scooters and shovels was acquired through several grants from the Arlington Forest Foundation. The sheds were constructed as part of an Eagle Scout project. The path was disrupted by the installation of the new playground and is scheduled to be fixed.


The Field

FieldStudents continue to learn even during play. Whole group activities and sports like the ever popular game of soccer are played enthusiastically on the large grassy expanse. Classes occasionally use this area for movement activities and science studies. The annual Campbell Olympic Games use this field for many of the fun and engaging physical activities that make up this celebratory day.


The Blacktop

BlacktopSome activities just need a good, hard surface, such as ball bouncing, basketball, chalk drawing, and tricycle riding.

 


Rain Barrels

Rain Barrels 2 During the Kindergarten/1st Grade Expedition “The Earth Beneath Our Feet,” a local gardener/artist Corinne DeJesus visited and discussed the purpose of rain barrels: water storage, prevention of run-off into streams, and recycling water. Later, she painted the barrels with resident animals suggested by the K/1 classes. Water from the rain barrels is used to water the plantings along the “snake fence” bordering the parking area. A third rain barrel has been added near the school’s entrance. This was painted by students under the direction of a former Campbell art teacher and won an award at George Mason University.


The Trellis/Arch

TrellisA Concord grape vine grows over the arch.

 

 

 


Pollinator Garden

Pollinator GardenThe 3rd grade Bee Expedition led students to research plant species of annual and perennial plants that are attractive to bees. Bee balm, salvia, lavender, cone flowers, sunflowers, butterfly bush, and ornamental grasses are some of the plants currently growing in this area.


The Amphitheater

AmpitheaterAt the eastern edge of the playground near the stairs to South 7th Street, a raised platform and rows of benches provide the perfect stage for dramatic play or special presentations.

 


The Butterfly Garden

Butterfly GardenBetween the school building and the sidewalk lies a butterfly garden. It is lush with plants that attract butterflies by providing nectar to the adults, and food for the growing caterpillars. As in the other gardens on campus, the plants are a mix of native and non-native species. The goal is to use more and more native and historically significant species throughout the schoolyard.


Additional Areas

The Orchard

OrchardSeveral K/1 classrooms open into this area which is home to heritage apple trees (some of the same varieties as planted by Thomas Jefferson at Monticello). Each classroom has a raised bed just outside the door which is used for class vegetable and flower gardens. Bachelor buttons attract American Goldfinches, and spring bulbs delight us all with their bright colors.


The Courtyard

CourtyardLike an oasis in the middle of the school building, the Courtyard is completely enclosed providing a quiet location for both guided explorations and relaxation. A trickling pond quickly draws the attention of visitors, as well as habitat for plants, mushrooms, algae, and many animals, including box turtles, and red eared sliders. Yearly we discover visitors such as mallard ducks looking for spring nesting sites. The rich soil in our raised micro-climate bedsPond soaks up the warmth reflected off the brick buildings allowing our vegetable and flower gardens to thrive for a longer growing season. Composting of plant scraps and leaves helps us maintain the rich soil, enhancing student food crops grown for donation to our local food banks. Tables and benches provide seating for students and teachers alike during lessons or lunches. A large storage shed houses our collection of gardening tools.


Future Developments

Campbell Elementary School is always seeking ways to better utilize our natural resources and our community talents! We welcome collaborative expertise and creativity in the development of these possible additions:

Physical Improvements:

  • Places for quiet reading
  • Interpretive signage related to our outdoor classroom spaces and gardens
  • Additional shaded areas
  • A reliable watering system
  • An interactive school yard bulletin board

Relationships with People:

  • Partnering with mentor-volunteers through a local garden club
  • A student gardening club
  • Organized real-life application of curriculum into the use of the campus, such as using math to calculate the distances in our playground

Ways You Can Contribute

  • Donate your time by showing up on one of our Saturday Gardening days or volunteering to help organize and implement special events related to our Outdoor Classrooms
  • Donate your talents (mentor gardener, landscape design, graphic artistry in signage development, etc)
  • Donate funds or materials for new and on-going projects, such as the Wetland Learning Lab