فناء المدرسة

 


مدخل حدائق ومسار الطوب

مدخل الحديقةتم تصميم Entrance Garden ليكون منطقة ترحيب للناس والنحل والفراشات. يوفر مسار الطوبمنطقة جلوس هادئة ومكان للتفكير في الطبيعة. يوفر اثنان من الصفصاف البكاء والكرز المزهر مناطق مظللة ولون موسمي. يوفر Witch Hazel زهورًا صفراء زاهية للدراسة في أواخر الشتاء بينما تزدحم تحوط Abelia و Virginia Sweetspire بالنشاط خلال أوائل الربيع والصيف. يساعد سياج الاعتصام الأبيض ، النموذجي في الحقبة الاستعمارية ، على خلق شعور بالملاذ وانعكاس هادئ. تظهر أسماء المتبرعين لمشاريع البناء المبكرة لدينا في الطوب الذي يشكل مسارًا في منطقة الحديقة هذه.


فرجينيا حديقة كولونيال

استعماريربما كانت هذه الحديقة الرسمية في ساحة عائلة ثرية خلال الفترة الاستعمارية في تاريخ فرجينيا. تم بحثها وتصميمها بواسطة 4thو 5thالصف ، الحديقة متناظرة مع مسارات من الحصى الأبيض لتقليد قذائف المحار المستعمرة المسحوقة. الساعة الشمسية التقليدية في الوسط محاطة بالورود وإكليل الجبل والنعناع والمريمية.


النقد حديقة المحاصيل

حديقة المحاصيل النقديةبجوار حديقة Virginia Colonial ، تمثل هذه الحديقة "حديقة مطبخ" أو "محصول نقدي" (ذرة ، قطن ، تبغ) قام بزراعتها مزارعون يعملون بجد خلال فترة الاستعمار. تزرع توت العليق والعليق بجوار سياج السكة المقسم (سياج شائع الاستخدام في العصر الاستعماري). تم تركيب الجدار الحجري للحد من تآكل التربة. على مر السنين ، زرعت فصول مختلفة في هذه المنطقة لمجموعة متنوعة من الأغراض.


ممر حدائق

حديقة باثوايتم زرع هذه الحديقة الضيقة بجانب المبنى عبر الطريق من الحديقة الاستعمارية في البداية باسم "حديقة العبيد" ، المكونة من الخضروات (الخضر والفاصوليا والقرع والقرع) التي ربما نماها العبيد لتكملة مخصصاتهم الغذائية. على مر السنين تم تحويل هذه المساحة إلى حديقة من الزهور والخضروات.


باحة إليزابيث كامبل في الهواء الطلق

فناءتم تصميم الفناء لتوفير مساحة خارجية للطلاب للعمل ، ومكانًا للمجتمع لتناول الغداء والتواصل الاجتماعي. تم تصميم فسيفساء الورد (الزهور المفضلة للسيدة كامبل) من قبل مدرس فنون ، وتم إنتاجها مع الطلاب وأولياء الأمور. زرعت الورود المقطوعة لأنه لا توجد مواد كيميائية مطلوبة لصيانتها. يزدهر نهر بيرش ، وهو نوع محلي يستخدمه الأمريكيون الأصليون لأغراض متنوعة ، في هذه المنطقة بسبب ارتفاع منسوب المياه في مكان الإقامة.


المسار المتعرج والمعالم المحيطة به

لوري بيكر لين

لوري بيكر لينتم تسمية المسار المعبّد الذي كان يدور حول الحقل على اسم المدير الأول للمدرسة ، لوري بيكر. تم الحصول على تمويل بناء المسار والسقيفتين للدراجات ذات العجلات الثلاث والدراجات البخارية والمجارف من خلال عدة منح من مؤسسة Arlington Forest Foundation. تم بناء الحظائر كجزء من مشروع Eagle Scout. تعطل المسار بسبب تركيب الملعب الجديد ومن المقرر أن يتم إصلاحه.


الميدان

الحقليستمر الطلاب في التعلم حتى أثناء اللعب. يتم لعب أنشطة ورياضات المجموعة بأكملها مثل لعبة كرة القدم الشعبية بحماس على مساحة عشبية كبيرة. تستخدم الفصول أحيانًا هذه المنطقة لأنشطة الحركة ودراسات العلوم. تستخدم دورة ألعاب كامبل الأولمبية السنوية هذا المجال للعديد من الأنشطة البدنية الممتعة والجذابة التي تشكل هذا اليوم الاحتفالي.


ذا بلاك توب

الأسفلتبعض الأنشطة تحتاج فقط إلى سطح صلب جيد ، مثل كذاب الكرة وكرة السلة ورسم الطباشير وركوب الدراجة ثلاثية العجلات.

 


براميل المطر

خلال روضة الأطفال / الرحلة الاستكشافية للصف الأول "الأرض تحت أقدامنا" ، زارت البستاني / الفنانة كورين دييسوس وناقشت الغرض من براميل المطر: تخزين المياه ، ومنع الانسياب في الجداول ، وإعادة تدوير المياه. في وقت لاحق ، رسمت البراميل بالحيوانات المقيمة التي اقترحتها فصول K / 1. تُستخدم المياه من براميل المطر لسقي المزروعات على طول "سياج الأفعى" المتاخم لمنطقة وقوف السيارات. تمت إضافة برميل مطر ثالث بالقرب من مدخل المدرسة. تم رسم هذا من قبل الطلاب تحت إشراف مدرس فنون كامبل سابق وفاز بجائزة في جامعة جورج ميسون.


التعريشة / القوس

تعريشةتنمو كرمة العنب كونكورد فوق القوس.

 

 

 


الملقحات حدائق

حديقة الملقحاتقادت بعثة Bee من الصف الثالث الطلاب للبحث عن أنواع نباتية من النباتات السنوية والمعمرة الجذابة للنحل. بعض النباتات التي تنمو حاليًا في هذه المنطقة هي بلسم النحل والسالفيا والخزامى والزهور المخروطية وعباد الشمس وشجيرة الفراشة وأعشاب الزينة.


المدرج

مدرجفي الطرف الشرقي من الملعب بالقرب من الدرج الجنوبي 7th Street ، وهي منصة مرتفعة وصفوف من المقاعد توفر المسرح المثالي للعب الدرامي أو العروض التقديمية الخاصة.

 


حديقة الفراشة

حديقة الفراشةبين مبنى المدرسة والرصيف توجد حديقة فراشة. إنه غني بالنباتات التي تجذب الفراشات من خلال توفير الرحيق للبالغين ، والغذاء لليرقات النامية. كما هو الحال في الحدائق الأخرى في الحرم الجامعي ، فإن النباتات عبارة عن مزيج من الأنواع المحلية وغير المحلية. الهدف هو استخدام المزيد والمزيد من الأنواع المحلية وذات الأهمية التاريخية في جميع أنحاء ساحة المدرسة.


مناطق إضافية

بستان

بستانتفتح العديد من الفصول الدراسية K / 1 في هذه المنطقة التي تعد موطنًا لأشجار التفاح التراثية (بعض الأصناف نفسها التي زرعها توماس جيفرسون في مونتايسلو). يحتوي كل فصل دراسي على سرير مرتفع خارج الباب يستخدم لخضروات الفصل وحدائق الزهور. تجذب أزرار البكالوريوس الحسون الأمريكي ، وتفرح المصابيح الزنبركية بألوانها الزاهية.


الفناء

فناءمثل واحة في وسط مبنى المدرسة ، فإن الفناء مغلق تمامًا ويوفر موقعًا هادئًا للاستكشاف والاسترخاء على حد سواء. تجذب البركة المتساقطة انتباه الزائرين بسرعة ، بالإضافة إلى موطن النباتات والفطر والطحالب والعديد من الحيوانات ، بما في ذلك السلاحف الصندوقية والمنزلقات ذات الأذنين الحمراء. نكتشف سنويًا زوارًا مثل بط البطة الذين يبحثون عن مواقع التعشيش في الربيع. التربة الغنية في أحواضنا المرتفعة ذات المناخ الصغيربركة ماء تمتص الدفء المنعكس من المباني المبنية من الطوب مما يسمح بحدائق الخضار والزهور لدينا بالازدهار لموسم نمو أطول سماد النباتaps والأوراق تساعدنا في الحفاظ على التربة الغنية ، وتعزيز المحاصيل الغذائية الطلابية المزروعة للتبرع بها إلى بنوك الطعام المحلية لدينا. توفر الطاولات والمقاعد مقاعد للطلاب والمدرسين على حد سواء أثناء الدروس أو وجبات الغداء. سقيفة تخزين كبيرة تضم مجموعتنا من أدوات البستنة.


التطورات المستقبلية

تبحث مدرسة كامبل الابتدائية دائمًا عن طرق للاستفادة بشكل أفضل من مواردنا الطبيعية ومواهب مجتمعنا! نرحب بالخبرة التعاونية والإبداع في تطوير هذه الإضافات المحتملة:

التحسينات الجسدية:

  • أماكن للقراءة الهادئة
  • لافتات تفسيرية متعلقة بمساحات الفصول الدراسية والحدائق الخارجية
  • مناطق مظللة إضافية
  • نظام ري موثوق
  • لوحة إعلانات تفاعلية في ساحة المدرسة

العلاقات مع الناس:

  • الشراكة مع المرشدين المتطوعين من خلال نادي الحدائق المحلي
  • نادي البستنة الطلابي
  • التطبيق الواقعي المنظم للمناهج الدراسية في استخدام الحرم الجامعي ، مثل استخدام الرياضيات لحساب المسافات في ملعبنا

طرق يمكنك المساهمة بها

  • تبرع بوقتك من خلال الظهور في أحد أيام البستنة يوم السبت أو التطوع للمساعدة في تنظيم وتنفيذ الأحداث الخاصة المتعلقة بفصولنا الدراسية الخارجية
  • تبرع بمواهبك (معلم البستاني ، تصميم المناظر الطبيعية ، فن الجرافيك في تطوير اللافتات ، إلخ)
  • تبرع بأموال أو مواد للمشاريع الجديدة والجارية ، مثل Wetland Learning Lab

Schoolyard

front of school The Front Entrance to the Schoolyard


Entrance Garden and Brick Path

Entrance GardenThe Entrance Garden was designed to be a welcoming area for people, bees and butterflies. It provides a Brick Pathquiet sitting area and a place to contemplate nature. Two Weeping Willows and Flowering Cherry provide shady areas and seasonal color. Witch Hazel provides bright yellow flowers for study in the late winter while an Abelia and Virginia Sweetspire hedge buzzes with activity during early spring and summer. A white picket fence, typical of Colonial times, helps create the feeling of sanctuary and quiet reflection. Names of donors to our early building projects are featured in the bricks that form a path in this garden area.


Virginia Colonial Garden

ColonialThis formal garden might have been in the yard of a wealthy family during the colonial period in Virginia’s history. Researched and designed by the 4thand 5thgrade, the garden is symmetrical with paths of white gravel to mimic the colonial crushed oyster shells. The traditional sundial in the center is surrounded by roses, rosemary, mint and sage.


Cash Crop Garden

Cash Crop GardenAdjacent to the Virginia Colonial Garden, this garden represents a “kitchen garden” or “cash crop” (corn, cotton, tobacco) garden grown by hardworking farmers during the colonial period.  Raspberries and blackberries are planted next to the split rail fence (a commonly used fence in Colonial times). The stone wall was installed to reduce soil erosion. Over the years different classes have planted in this area for a variety of purposes.


Pathway Garden

Pathway GardenThis narrow garden alongside the building across the path from the Colonial Garden was initially planted as a “Slave Garden,” made up of the vegetables (greens, beans, gourds, and squash) that slaves may have grown to supplement their food allowances. Over the years this space has been transformed  into a garden of flowers and vegetables.


Elizabeth Campbell Outdoor Classroom Patio

PatioThe patio was designed to provide an outdoor space for students to work, and a place for the community to have lunch and socialize. The rose mosaics (Mrs. Campbell’s favorite flowers) were designed by an art teacher, and produced with students and parents. Knock out roses were planted because no chemicals are required to maintain them. River Birches, a native species used by Native Americans for a variety of purposes, flourish in this area due to the high water table on the property.


The Meandering Path and Features Around It

Laurie Baker Lane

Laurie Baker LaneThe paved path once circling the field is named after the school’s first principal, Laurie Baker. Funding for construction of the path and the two sheds housing tricycles, scooters and shovels was acquired through several grants from the Arlington Forest Foundation. The sheds were constructed as part of an Eagle Scout project. The path was disrupted by the installation of the new playground and is scheduled to be fixed.


The Field

FieldStudents continue to learn even during play. Whole group activities and sports like the ever popular game of soccer are played enthusiastically on the large grassy expanse. Classes occasionally use this area for movement activities and science studies. The annual Campbell Olympic Games use this field for many of the fun and engaging physical activities that make up this celebratory day.


The Blacktop

BlacktopSome activities just need a good, hard surface, such as ball bouncing, basketball, chalk drawing, and tricycle riding.

 


Rain Barrels

Rain Barrels 2 During the Kindergarten/1st Grade Expedition “The Earth Beneath Our Feet,” a local gardener/artist Corinne DeJesus visited and discussed the purpose of rain barrels: water storage, prevention of run-off into streams, and recycling water. Later, she painted the barrels with resident animals suggested by the K/1 classes. Water from the rain barrels is used to water the plantings along the “snake fence” bordering the parking area. A third rain barrel has been added near the school’s entrance. This was painted by students under the direction of a former Campbell art teacher and won an award at George Mason University.


The Trellis/Arch

TrellisA Concord grape vine grows over the arch.

 

 

 


Pollinator Garden

Pollinator GardenThe 3rd grade Bee Expedition led students to research plant species of annual and perennial plants that are attractive to bees. Bee balm, salvia, lavender, cone flowers, sunflowers, butterfly bush, and ornamental grasses are some of the plants currently growing in this area.


The Amphitheater

AmpitheaterAt the eastern edge of the playground near the stairs to South 7th Street, a raised platform and rows of benches provide the perfect stage for dramatic play or special presentations.

 


The Butterfly Garden

Butterfly GardenBetween the school building and the sidewalk lies a butterfly garden. It is lush with plants that attract butterflies by providing nectar to the adults, and food for the growing caterpillars. As in the other gardens on campus, the plants are a mix of native and non-native species. The goal is to use more and more native and historically significant species throughout the schoolyard.


Additional Areas

The Orchard

OrchardSeveral K/1 classrooms open into this area which is home to heritage apple trees (some of the same varieties as planted by Thomas Jefferson at Monticello). Each classroom has a raised bed just outside the door which is used for class vegetable and flower gardens. Bachelor buttons attract American Goldfinches, and spring bulbs delight us all with their bright colors.


The Courtyard

CourtyardLike an oasis in the middle of the school building, the Courtyard is completely enclosed providing a quiet location for both guided explorations and relaxation. A trickling pond quickly draws the attention of visitors, as well as habitat for plants, mushrooms, algae, and many animals, including box turtles, and red eared sliders. Yearly we discover visitors such as mallard ducks looking for spring nesting sites. The rich soil in our raised micro-climate bedsPond soaks up the warmth reflected off the brick buildings allowing our vegetable and flower gardens to thrive for a longer growing season. Composting of plant scraps and leaves helps us maintain the rich soil, enhancing student food crops grown for donation to our local food banks. Tables and benches provide seating for students and teachers alike during lessons or lunches. A large storage shed houses our collection of gardening tools.


Future Developments

Campbell Elementary School is always seeking ways to better utilize our natural resources and our community talents! We welcome collaborative expertise and creativity in the development of these possible additions:

Physical Improvements:

  • Places for quiet reading
  • Interpretive signage related to our outdoor classroom spaces and gardens
  • Additional shaded areas
  • A reliable watering system
  • An interactive school yard bulletin board

Relationships with People:

  • Partnering with mentor-volunteers through a local garden club
  • A student gardening club
  • Organized real-life application of curriculum into the use of the campus, such as using math to calculate the distances in our playground

Ways You Can Contribute

  • Donate your time by showing up on one of our Saturday Gardening days or volunteering to help organize and implement special events related to our Outdoor Classrooms
  • Donate your talents (mentor gardener, landscape design, graphic artistry in signage development, etc)
  • Donate funds or materials for new and on-going projects, such as the Wetland Learning Lab