角色–要求1

坎貝爾的學生通過在充滿挑戰的情況下表現出的毅力,正在成為有效的學習者。


概述
為了在遇到困難或較長任務時提高學生的耐力,選擇了毅力作為角色重點,以支持語言藝術和數學領域的學術目標。 向學生介紹了成長心態詞彙,並且家長報告說,學生甚至在家中使用了該語言。 堅持不懈的例子在學生領導的社區會議上得到了強調。 學生創建了錨定圖和標牌,確定了可以提高勇氣和成長心態的策略。

毅力數據-單擊可查看視圖
學生的毅力

數據
在坎貝爾成績單上,獎學金的習慣之一是“我能堅持不懈地克服困難。” 在2015年第一季度,有31%的學生能夠持續堅持Vere。 下圖顯示了在4年內堅持不懈的坎貝爾學生百分比。 到4-2017年第四季度,K-2018的76名坎貝爾學生中的380%能夠堅持不懈地克服課堂作業中的難題。

此外,在2018年春季基於現場的調查中,坎貝爾5年級學生以以下方式回應:

  • 89%的學生報告說,當他們想放棄艱鉅的任務時,老師鼓勵他們繼續努力。
  • 93%的學生報告說,他們的老師認為他們在學校可以做得非常好。
  • 87%的學生報告說,老師鼓勵他們做到最好。

與學生和家庭參與有關的回答比其他方面的回答更有利 APS 小學。

課堂資料
以下課堂數據表明,在2017-2018學年,學生表現出對學習任務的毅力提高。

靜默閱讀耐力圖-單擊可查看視圖
閱讀毅力

左圖顯示一三年級教室的學生至少可以靜默閱讀18分鐘。 許多學生能夠沉默地閱讀長達35分鐘。 數據圖表顯示了每個學生的進步情況。

數學體力圖-單擊可查看視圖。
數學耐力

如右圖所示,學生在面對具有挑戰性的數學問題時,將毅力作為提高耐力的一種策略。 該數據表明,我們80%的學生到學年末能夠增加在開放式數學問題上花費的時間和精力。 

 


學生作業和課堂示例
在2017-2018學年,學生使用模板來反映他們整個學年的毅力。 學生定義了毅力對他們意味著什麼,並解釋了他們如何在課堂上表現出毅力。 一年中,學生通過使用目標進行了三次自我評估。 他們還必須記錄證據和堅持下來的例子。 到年底,所有學生都可以通過視覺目標看到他們的書面解釋以及他們在實現目標方面取得的進展。

三年級樣本組合思考幼兒園樣本組合思考

第三gr投資組合    第三屆GR學生作品集             幼兒園反思工作    K級反射
點擊圖片查看大圖。

學生感言
在2019年,學生的反思繼續在老師沒有提示的情況下提及毅力。 學生們 學生作品集反思繼續使用成長心態語言來描述他們的工作和學術進步,並強調毅力。 學生掌握了以積極的心態談論自己的工作的詞彙和工具,這使他們能夠為自己的成就感到自豪。學生作品集反思

 

三年級文學獎作品集項目-學生作品
單擊圖像可查看大圖。

三年級的學生通過創建圖書獎來證明自己對虛構故事的理解。 學生可以自行選擇他們的書和重點領域。 這項學生作品的左側重點突出主題,該學生將其獎項命名為“毅力獎”。 在整個項目中,她強調了毅力對她而言意味著什麼,以及為什麼毅力是值得慶祝的重要角色特質。

 


教室錨圖和學生作業
學生在教室裡使用毅力清單。 他們用自己的話語定義了毅力,並進行了對話,討論他們在教室裡的毅力可能看起來或聽起來像什麼。 學生創建的錨定圖顯示了學生在工作中遇到挑戰時可以嘗試的不同策略。 以下是說明性示例:

學校範圍的毅力清單             毅力錨定圖與學生生成的示例             學生創建錨定圖
點擊圖片查看大圖。

學生參加課堂上的課程和經驗,這為使用各種毅力策略提供了機會。 一個示例在2018-2019學年的一年級教室中顯示。 每週,學生都要參加STEM挑戰賽,並與合作夥伴或小組一起應對挑戰。 在一周結束時,每個學生都會寫一份關於挑戰的反思。 以下是兩個反映的示例。 在第一張照片中,學生說:“我和我的伴侶一直在努力……但我們從未放棄。” 在學生工作的第二張照片中,作者寫道,在成功之前,他曾多次嘗試堆雪人,並堅持不懈。

學生幹挑戰         雪人
點擊圖片查看大圖。

學生會反思自己在單元的開始,中間和末尾或僅在單元的開始和末尾保留和處理困難概念的能力。 通過學習新的策略,解決問題的技能,並參加有關成長心態的小型課程和討論,學生可以顯示一段時間內的成長。 下圖顯示了學生根據數學學習目標進行的自我評估。

恆心錨圖貨幣 .     學生錢錨圖
點擊圖片查看大圖。

成長心態
成長心態是學生用來幫助他們克服工作中所面臨挑戰的工具。 五年級的學生製作了一個視頻,讓父母了解成​​長的心態。 請點擊 這裡 觀看視頻。 視頻解釋了成長心態對每個學生意味著什麼,以及為什麼在學校記住這一點很重要。

學生成長心態標誌點擊圖片查看大圖。

回到頂部

Character – Claim 1

Campbell students are becoming effective learners by exhibiting perseverance in challenging situations.


Overview
To increase student stamina when faced with difficult or longer tasks, perseverance was selected as a character focus to support academic targets in both language arts and math. Students were introduced to growth mindset vocabulary and parents reported that students even used the language at home. Examples of perseverance were highlighted at student led Community Meetings. Students created anchor charts and signage which identified strategies to promote grit and growth mindsets.

Perseverance data-click for readable view
Student Perseverance

Data
On the Campbell report card, one of the Habits of Scholarship is “I can persevere through difficult problems.” In the first quarter of 2015, 31% of students were able to consistently persevere. The graph below shows the increased percentage of Campbell students being able to persevere over a 4 year period. By the 4th quarter of 2017-2018, 76% of 380 Campbell students in K-5 were able to consistently persevere through difficult problems in classwork.

Additionally, on the Spring 2018 site based survey, Campbell 5th graders responded in the following manner:

  • 89% of students reported that when they feel like giving up on a difficult task, teachers encourage them to keep trying.
  • 93% of students reported that their teachers believe they can do extremely well or quite well in school.
  • 87% of students reported that teachers encourage them to do their best.

The responses related to student and family engagement were more favorable than responses at other APS elementary schools.

Classroom Data
The following classroom data indicates that students showed improved perseverance on academic tasks in the 2017-2018 school year.

Silent Reading Stamina graph - click for readable view
Reading Perseverance

The graph on the left shows that students in one third grade classroom were able to read silently for at least 18 minutes. Many students were able to read silently for as long as 35 minutes. The data chart shows how each student improved.

Math Stamina graph - click for readable view.
Math Stamina

Students as shown in the graph to the right, used perseverance as a strategy to build stamina when faced with challenging math problems. This data shows that 80% of students were able to increase the amount of time and effort spent on open-ended math problems by the end of the school year. 

 


Student Work and Classroom Examples
In the 2017-2018 school year, students used a template to reflect on their perseverance throughout the school year. Students defined what perseverance meant to them and explained how they showed perseverance in the classroom. Students self-assessed by using a target three times throughout the year. They also had to document evidence and examples of times in which they persevered. At the end of the year all students were able to see, with the visual target, their written explanations and the progress they made with their goals.

Grade 3 Sample Portfolio Reflections                      Kindergarten Sample Portfolio Reflections

3rd gr Portfolio    3rd gr student portfolio             Kindergarten reflection work    Grade K Reflection
Click image for larger view.

Student Reflections
In 2019, student reflections continued to reference perseverance without teacher prompting. Students Student portfolio reflectioncontinued to describe their work and academic progress using growth mindset language and emphasized perseverance. Students had the vocabulary and tools to talk about their work from a positive mindset which allows them to demonstrate pride in their accomplishments.Student portfolio reflection

 

3rd Grade Literary Award Portfolio Project-Student work
Click images for larger view.

Students in 3rd grade demonstrated mastery of comprehension of fictional stories by creating book awards. Students were able to self-select their book and their area of focus. This student work featured to the left focused on theme and the student named her award, “The Perseverance Award.” Throughout the project she highlighted what perseverance means to her and why it is an important character trait to celebrate.

 


Classroom Anchor Charts and Student Work
Students used perseverance checklists in classrooms. They defined perseverance in their own words and engaged in conversations about what persevering might look or sound like in their classroom. The student-created anchor chart displays different strategies students can try if they face challenges in their work.  Below are illustrative examples:

School wide Perseverance Checklist             Perseverance anchor chart with student generated examples             Student created anchor chart
Click image for larger view.

Students participate in lessons and experiences within the classroom, which foster opportunities for the use of various perseverance strategies. An example of this is shown within a first grade classroom during the 2018-2019 school year. Each week, students participate in a STEM challenge and work on the challenge in partners or groups. At the end of the week, each student writes a reflection about the challenge. Below are two examples of reflections. In the first picture the student says, “Me and my partner kept trying….but we never gave up.” In the second photograph of student work, the author wrote about how he persevered by trying to build the snowman multiple times before he succeeded.

Student stem challenge         Snowman
Click image for larger view.

Students self-reflect on their ability to preserve and work through difficult concepts at the beginning, middle and end of the unit or just at the start and end of the unit. Students are able to show growth over time through learning new strategies, problem solving skills, and participating in mini lessons and discussions on growth mindset. The pictures below show students self-assessing based on the math learning target.

Perseverance anchor chart-money .     students-money anchor chart
Click image for larger view.

Growth Mindset
Growth mindset is a tool students use to help them persevere through challenges they face within their work. Fifth grade students created a video for parents to understand growth mindset. Click here to view the video. The video explains what growth mindset means to each student and why it is important to remember in school.

Student growth mindset signClick image for larger view.

Back to top