掌握知識和技能–要求1

坎貝爾(Campbell)是一所擁有獨特且多樣化的學生群體的學校,與所在地區和州的差異很大,其表現越來越好於 州和該地區內的其他第一類學校。


概述
學習標準(SOL)評估適用於3-5年級的所有學生。 從2012年到2017年,坎貝爾考試成績在閱讀和數學上穩步上升。 自2012年以來,坎貝爾滿足了弗吉尼亞教育局全面認證的要求。 坎貝爾還符合《每個學生成功法案》(ESSA)的聯邦要求,包括年度可衡量目標(AMO)。

學習數據標準
通過SOL評估測得的成績數據表明,Campbell學生通過等級評估的速度比過去更高。 總體及格率和子組及格率的軌跡都向上。 從2012年到2017年,測試本身和豁免條件保持相當一致。

在2017-18學年,英語學習初期的學生不再被允許使用Virginia Grade Level Alternative(VGLA)作為Reading SOL的替代評估。 這new policy disproportionately impacted schools, like Campbell, with high numbers of Limited English Proficient (LEP) students.幾乎沒有政策對像坎貝爾這樣的學校產生了不成比例的影響,這些學校的英語能力有限(LEP)學生數量很多。 As compared to other Title I schools, in Arlington Public Schools (與其他第一類學校相比,在阿靈頓公立學校(APS),坎貝爾的及格率仍然更高。 In the same 2017-18 school year, the rigor on the math SOL increased as well, which caused a decline in this area.在同一個XNUMX-XNUMX學年,數學SOL的嚴格程度也有所提高,這導致該領域的下降。

單擊圖形可查看大圖。

讀取SOL合格率並單擊以查看清晰的視圖        數學SOL合格率-單擊可查看視圖

The above graphs show that Campbell academic performance was below the district Title I schools and state in 2012, but gradually improved over the next 5 years.上圖顯示,2015年,坎貝爾的學業成績不及地區一號學校和州,但在接下來的2018年中逐步改善。 By XNUMX, Campbell was outperforming both state and district Title I schools in reading and math.到XNUMX年,坎貝爾在閱讀和數學上的表現均超過州立和地區一號學校。 The graphs also show that not only did Campbell experience a decline in XNUMX, but so did other圖表還顯示,不僅坎貝爾在XNUMX年經歷了下滑,其他方面也是如此 APS 頭銜學校和州平均水平。

SOL子小組績效
在2012年至2017年期間,當測試條件保持不變時,分組表現有所提高。 成就差距縮小了。 黑人,西班牙裔和LEP學生的閱讀及格率都至少提高了30個百分點。 數學上也發生了類似的情況。 Ť閱讀和數學的整體學生及格率以及子類別及格率都得到了提高。

點擊圖查看大圖
讀取SOL子組單擊圖像可查看視圖    坎貝爾數學子組單擊圖像即可查看


PALS數據
弗吉尼亞大學開發的語音意識素養篩查(PALS)評估在弗吉尼亞州的大多數地區用於評估學生的識字基礎知識。 該評估測量字母的聲音知識,語音意識,字母識別,單詞概念以及拼寫/語音。 該評估用於識別需要額外閱讀指導的學生,並由教師告知他們的指導。

在秋季和春季,將對所有幼兒園學生進行評估。 秋季未達到基準的學生將在年中獲得額外的管理。 自2013年以來,與第一類學校相比,坎貝爾幼兒園的學生達到春季基準的比例更高。 該數據顯示了小學學生的閱讀成績。

單擊此處查看幼兒園PALS數據的大圖
單擊K-Pals數據可查看視圖


從2012年開始,坎貝爾(Campbell)員工踏上了改善學校的旅程。 首先,在學校範圍內解決了學生的行為和社會情感需求。 對特殊教育,閱讀,數學和ESL服務交付模型進行了檢查和調整。 老師與管理員合作,每週創建一次PLC級年度會議,團隊在其中研究學生的成長,數據和乾預措施。 學校內部建立了基於研究干預的能力。 2014年,通過採用閱讀和寫作研討會模型,提高了學生的參與度和耐力。 在2016年左右,教師也開始實施數學研討會。 EL最佳實踐補充了學區實踐,以改善對Campbell學生的教學效果。

回到頂部

Mastery of Knowledge & Skills – Claim 1

Campbell, a school with a unique and diverse student population that significantly differs from their district and the state, increasingly outperforms the state and other Title I schools within the district.


Overview
The Standards of Learning (SOL) assessment is given to all students in grades 3-5. From 2012 to 2017, Campbell test scores steadily rose in reading and math.  Since 2012, Campbell has met the requirements to be fully accredited by the Virginia Department of Education. Campbell has also met the federal requirements under Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), including the Annual Measurable Objectives (AMOs).

Standards of Learning Data
The achievement data, as measured by the SOL assessment, shows that Campbell students are passing grade level assessments at a higher rate than they did in the past. The trajectory for both overall pass rates and subgroup pass rates is upward. The tests themselves and the conditions of exemptions remained fairly consistent from 2012 to 2017.

In the 2017-18 school year, students at early stages of English acquisition were no longer allowed to use Virginia Grade Level Alternative (VGLA) as an alternate assessment to the Reading SOL. This new policy disproportionately impacted schools, like Campbell, with high numbers of Limited English Proficient (LEP) students. As compared to other Title I schools, in Arlington Public Schools (APS), Campbell’s pass rate was still higher. In the same 2017-18 school year, the rigor on the math SOL increased as well, which caused a decline in this area.

Click graph for larger view.

Reading SOL Pass Rate-click for readable view        Math SOL Pass Rate-click for readable view

The above graphs show that Campbell academic performance was below the district Title I schools and state in 2012, but gradually improved over the next 5 years. By 2015, Campbell was outperforming both state and district Title I schools in reading and math. The graphs also show that not only did Campbell experience a decline in 2018, but so did other APS Title I schools and the state average.

SOL Subgroup Performance
During the period from 2012 to 2017, when the testing conditions remained constant, the subgroup performance rose.  The achievement gap was reduced. Black, Hispanic and LEP students all made at least a 30 percentage point gain in the pass rate in reading.  A similar pattern occurred in math. The overall student pass rate in reading and math increased, as did the subgroup pass rates.

Click graph for larger view
Reading SOL Subgroup-click image for readable view    Campbell Math Subgroup-click image for readable view


PALS Data
The Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening (PALS) assessment, developed by the University of Virginia, is used in most Virginia districts to assess students’ knowledge of literacy fundamentals. The assessment measures letter sound knowledge, phonological awareness, alphabet recognition, concept of word, and spelling/phonics. The assessment is used to identify students in need of additional reading instruction and by teachers to inform their instruction.

All kindergarten students are administered the assessment in the fall and spring. Students that do not meet benchmark in the fall receive an additional administration mid-year. Since 2013, a higher percentage of Campbell Kindergarten students have met spring benchmarks as compared to their Title I school counterparts. This data shows student reading achievement in primary grades.

Click here for a larger view of Kindergarten PALS Data
K-Pals data-click for readable view


Beginning in 2012, Campbell staff embarked on a journey of school improvement. First, student behaviors and social emotional needs were addressed school wide. Special education, reading, math and ESL service delivery models were examined and adjusted. Teachers worked with administrators to create weekly grade level PLC meetings in which teams studied student growth, data and interventions. Capacity was built within the school regarding research based interventions. In 2014, student engagement and stamina increased with the adoption of a reading and writing workshop model. Around 2016, teachers began to implement math workshop as well. EL best practices have complimented district practices to improve instructional outcomes for students at Campbell.

Back to top